No Way Down - Graham Bowley

No Way Down

By Graham Bowley

  • Release Date: 2010-06-29
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs
Score: 3.5
3.5
From 101 Ratings

Description

“No Way Down is both a gripping read and a clear-eyed investigation of the hubris, politics, and bad luck that brought on one of the worst disasters in modern mountaineering history.” — Michael Kodas, author of High Crimes: The Fate of Everest in an Age of Greed

“Graham Bowley’s No Way Down does a great job of putting you on the mountain. It is a refreshingly unadorned account of the true brutality of climbing K2, where heroes emerge and egos are stripped down, and the only thing achieving immortality is the cold ruthless mountain.” — Norman Ollestad, author of Crazy for the Storm

In the tradition of Into Thin Air and Touching the Void, No Way Down by New York Times reporter Graham Bowley is the harrowing account of the worst mountain climbing disaster on K2, second to Everest in height... but second to no peak in terms of danger. From tragic deaths to unbelievable stories of heroism and survival, No Way Down is an amazing feat of storytelling and adventure writing, and, in the words of explorer and author Sir Ranulph Fiennes, “the closest you can come to being on the summit of K2 on that fateful day.”

Reviews

  • Very tough to read

    1
    By Jrs274
    Poorly written, tough to follow.
  • No Way Down

    5
    By Terrydav
    I couldn't stop turning the pages! What a great book describing the tragedy and history of K2. This book brought back the same thoughts and questions I had after completing "Into Thin Air." What a sad tragedy, I feel bad for their family left behind, and why do people venture into the death zone? Again, it shows that people will always venture to be at the top of the world. However, hopefully these new adventurers will learn from these stories and know when to turn back in order to avoid creating a new tragedy in the future.
  • Jungers into thin air

    5
    By ptgn123
    One of the reviewers is an idiot. Jon Krakauer wrote into thin air. Now by far krakauer is a better writer. But this book is a good look at mountaineering tragedy.
  • Mildly entertaining

    2
    By Lostinthecity
    But just not well written. The difference between this and Junger's Into Thin Air is extraordinary. One is a passable account of a specific event. The other is a riveting account in the hands of a master story teller. I prefer well written narratives, myself. Also, the writer never really seems to connect with his subject. It appears he was thrust into the topic without much forethought and thus doesn't ever warm to the task. I felt like I had to root for the characters harder than usual cause the writer wasn't all that interested in them. Pity.
  • OK but better books are out there

    3
    By Rockin Lawyer
    A decent account of the events on K2 but better books on the subject are out there. Ed Vestures book on this same subject is a better read. Additionally, Vestures book goes into the history of climbing K2 where this book only briefly mentions it. If you have not read Vestures' account of the events on K2, you will find this book enjoyable. If you have read Vestures' book, you can pass on this one